Making a Difference at Taller San Jose

The delicate balance of mentoring someone is not creating them in your own image, but giving them the opportunity to create themselves.

Steven Spielberg

 Image

I,  along with several of my colleagues from Petra-ICS, recently had this mentorship opportunity at Taller San Jose.  An innovative program founded in 1995 by Sister Eileen McNerney, a member of the congregation of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange.  Through workshops, Taller San Jose provides the youth within the community a support system that teaches them how to get and keep employment with a living wage.  As volunteers, we were provided information on a company’s history and a job description.  We then played the role of hiring manager and went through mock interviews with the students from Taller San Jose. 

I was able to draw from my professional work experience and provide positive and constructive feedback to each student’s preparedness, resume, interviewing skills, poise, and appearance/attire.  At the end of the mock interviews, all the volunteers and students reconvened for a brief Q&A.  Shortly after we got back into the office, I received the following email from one of the students: 

 

Dear Mr. Suzuki……..I would like to thank you for working with me on my interviewing skills.  I will remember all of your helpful insight in future interviews.

 

This brought a smile to my face!  I look forward to the success of the Taller San Jose students and hope to continue as a mentor for them.  

 

Will Suzuki

Financial Controls Manager at Petra-ICS

 

Leave a Reply

